Final post

Within creating the Manifesto, I wanted to portray how myself as an artist interpret influences, creation is authentic although being an artist is stealing in itself. Art is unoriginal, just a modernized adaptation of what has been done before. The title is self- explanatory in a manner of the context in the manifesto.

Strengths

  • Self-explanatory
  • To the point
  • Emphasizing the point that I wanted to get across in a way of reflecting on my practice
  • The visual communication of the manifesto, is also perceived as artwork itself, and the idea is stolen.

Weaknesses

  • I feel that it could of been presented in a better and more appealing way to the viewer, by the possibility of drawing/painting my response (mixed media)
  • It could have been made longer
  • I could of linked the manifesto to my ongoing studio practice, involving my visual with my practical
  • I could have spent more time developing and curating the ideas for my manifesto, instead of focusing on other projects in-depth.

 

My manifesto has enforced my practice in a sense that I want to continue using narrative as a common theme induced in my work, in both illustration and installations. I don’t think the blog is relevant to my practice, involving the issue of technological practice and digital experiments, I love the idea of curating sketchbooks and having handwritten work, as I feel a more personal connection in the development and in a traditional way.

Here is a problem I have encountered with the blogging system, I haven’t had enough time to update and self-evaluate my reflections online, as opposed to as in a journal, with the time restrictions I feel like I haven’t had enough time in general to complete my projects as a whole, the blog to me feels like ‘another job’ to complete. Therefore it hasn’t been a useful learning experience, as I am not relying on a blog to be successful within this course.

Leave a comment