Exhibition Display (brief description of final compilation)

My work portrays a metaphorical view of Alter Ego’s therefore; I have used mixed media such as textiles/sculpture representing metamorphosis and self -reflection within ones’ self.

The painting is an organic response to surrealism, influenced through my research.
I have adopted a painting style similar to that of the artist Paula Rego, I specifically used a monochromatic palette to convey an atmosphere of an eerie presence ‘Follow the Hare’ this is the title of my piece influenced by the Kit Williams book, Masquerade which was produced in the 1970’s, the illustrated novel is a sequential visual narrative throughout, signifying the persistence to find the same image in an progressive narrative.
People have an inner and outer self in regards to their nurtured alter ego, and I feel that my work presents the idea of the front and the inability to mask our true selves. This coherently link’s to the theme of obscurity, ‘Obscurity is Beauty’.

Leave a comment